Saturday, January 19, 2008

Elizabeth Enright's Melendy Books Back in Print

Some of my favorite books from the world of children's literature are coming back into print next week: Elizabeth Enright's Melendy Family series. The four books in the series are THE SATURDAYS, THE FOUR-STORY MISTAKE, THEN THERE WERE FIVE, and SPIDERWEB FOR TWO.

The first two books in the series are particularly fine; I read them countless times growing up. In THE SATURDAYS, published in 1941, four siblings who live with their widowed father and housekeeper in New York pool their allowances so that each Saturday one of the children gets all the money to go off and have an adventure. It would be unthinkable now, but the children travel on their own all around New York City!

The next book in the series finds the Melendys moving to an old house in the country, the "Four-Story Mistake."

Enright's other books include GONE-AWAY LAKE (a Newbery Honor book), RETURN TO GONE-AWAY, TATSINDA, and the 1939 Newbery Medal winner THIMBLE SUMMER.

All are highly recommended for the young readers in your life. Like most quality children's literature, grownups can enjoy them too. :)


Blogger Irene said...

That's interesting. My daughter's favorite book is Gone-Away Lake and Return to Gone-Away. Even now at 23 she still pulls that book out to read. I will have to look into these Melendy Family books.

11:40 PM  
Blogger Barb the Evil Genius said...

I loved the Melendy books. I am sorry that the Betsy-Tacy book seem to be going back out of print.

4:24 PM  
Blogger Laura said...

"I am sorry that the Betsy-Tacy book seem to be going back out of print."

Me too! It took a long time to get them back in print but they are starting to disappear from the shelves.

Are you aware of the Betsy-Tacy Society?

Best wishes,

5:12 PM  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Newer›  ‹Older