Monday, June 07, 2010

New on DVD: Bob Hope Thanks for the Memories Collection

A new collection of Bob Hope's films will be released tomorrow, June 8th.

The Thanks for the Memories Collection features six titles: THANKS FOR THE MEMORY (1938), THE CAT AND THE CANARY (1939), THE GHOST BREAKERS (1940), NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH (1941), ROAD TO MOROCCO (1942), and SON OF PALEFACE (1948).

Three of the films have been previously released on DVD: GHOST BREAKERS, ROAD TO MOROCCO, and SON OF PALEFACE. (Incidentally, ROAD TO MOROCCO is erroneously listed as THE ROAD TO MOROCCO in the cover art.) Otherwise, it looks like a very nice set.

There are a few extras, including trailers and photo galleries.

Of the six films in the collection, I've only seen ROAD TO MOROCCO and SON OF PALEFACE. I'm especially looking forward to catching up with Hope's films with Paulette Goddard at some point.

The set has been reviewed by Dave Kehr, Susan King, and Chris Hicks.


Blogger monty said...

Oh yes..I've been waiting for Nothing but the Truth. I've seen it once over 20 years ago and it's one of the funniest movies I've ever seen. Can't wait to buy this collection. Thanks for the reminder Laura.

3:07 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home

Newer›  ‹Older