Tuesday, August 10, 2010

Coming to DVD: The Douglas Sirk Collection

Turner Classic Movies has a very interesting new DVD set coming on September 30th: Douglas Sirk: Filmmaker Collection.

Like Deanna Durbin: The Music and Romance Collection and a few other recent releases, the Sirk Collection will be sold exclusively through Turner Classic Movies or through Movies Unlimited, which also services the TCM online store.

The Sirk Collection will feature four films: THUNDER ON THE HILL (1951) with Claudette Colbert and Ann Blyth; TAZA, SON OF COCHISE (1954) and CAPTAIN LIGHTFOOT (1955), both starring Rock Hudson and Barbara Rush; and THE TARNISHED ANGELS (1957), reuniting three stars of Sirk's WRITTEN ON THE WIND (1956), Rock Hudson, Robert Stack, and Dorothy Malone.

Extras include Robert Osborne introductions and galleries of stills and posters.

The films can also be bought individually.

I'm looking forward to this set, as I've never seen any of these films. I enjoy Colbert and Blyth very much and am completely unfamiliar with THUNDER ON THE HILL. THE TARNISHED ANGELS also sounds particularly interesting.

More thoughts on this upcoming release were posted by Lou Lumenick, who has also written extensively today about new Warner Archive releases


Post a Comment

<< Home

Newer›  ‹Older